## **Bath City Forum**

## Annual General Meeting, 13th September 2016

# Procedure Note Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair of Bath City Forum

This procedure note should be read in the context of standing order Rule 4, set out in Appendix 1

- (i) The AGM will be opened by an officer of Bath & North East Somerset Council
- (ii) This officer will seek nominations for the Chair of the Bath City Forum. Where nominations have been made in advance, these will be announced to the meeting. Self-nominations are allowed. Only the 12 elected Bath Councillors serving as members of the Bath City Forum are eligible to be nominated for the Chair. Nominations are able to be taken from the floor during the meeting and may be made by both elected and co-opted members.
- (iii) The officer will ensure that each nomination is duly seconded.
- (iv)Each candidate who has been validly nominated and seconded will be invited to make a series of remarks (of no more than two minutes in duration) in support of their candidature. No questions will be asked of candidates or any debate entered into.
- (v) Officers will then supervise the conduct of the election for the post of Chair. A secret ballot may be held if agreed by the meeting, a motion to this effect having been duly moved and seconded. The name receiving the most number of votes from those members of the Forum present will be elected Chair. As of August 2nd 2016, the following are members of the forum and therefore eligible to vote:

Cllr Patrick Anketell-Jones – Cabinet Member Cllr Rob Applevard – Liberal Democrat Jeremy Boss - Co-opted Member Cllr Dine Romero – Liberal Democrat **Cllr Fiona Darey - Conservative** Van DuBose - Co-opted Member Cllr Andy Furse – Liberal Democrat Cllr Bob Goodman - Conservative Patricia Griffin - Co-opted Member Sally Harris - Co-opted Member Michael Hill - Co-opted Member Matt Humberstone - Co-opted Member Caroline Kay - Co-opted Member Robin Kerr - Co-opted Member Penny McKissock - Co-opted Member Cllr Shaun McGall – Liberal Democrat Michael Norton -Conservative

Cllr Lin Patterson - Green Cllr Chris Pearce - Conservative Rosie Phillips - Co-opted Member Cllr June Player - Independent Cllr Joe Rayment - Labour Dr Christopher Roche - Co-opted Member George Samios - Co-opted Member Nigel Sherwen - Co-opted Member Cllr Peter Turner - Conservative

(vi) On being elected as Chair of the Forum, the elected Chair will take the chair of the meeting and will then undertake the process of electing Vice Chair of the Forum, using a similar process to the above. Only co-opted members of the Forum are eligible to be nominated for the post of Vice Chair. However nominations may be made by both elected and co-opted members. The name receiving the most number of votes from those members of the Forum present will be elected Vice Chair.

## Appendix 1

## RULE 4 – CHAIR OF BATH CITY FORUM

The Bath City Forum will elect a Chair and Vice-Chair at its first inaugural meeting. Thereafter elections for these posts will take place at the subsequent Annual General Meeting.

The Bath City Forum will elect its own Chair and Vice Chair from its membership. The Chair shall be drawn from the 12 elected Bath Councillors serving as members of the Bath City Forum. The Vice Chair shall be drawn from the co-opted members

The Chair and Vice Chair will act independently and work on behalf of the Forum for the wider benefit

The Chair and Vice Chair will meet with the Bath & North East Somerset Council Forum Sponsor as a Steering Group to agree agendas, resolve issues and report on actions as appropriate.

Voting for the Chair and Vice Chair will be available only to those existing members of the Forum, notification of which will be made in advance.

The existing Chair and Vice Chair may seek re-election. Nominations for Chair and Vice Chair may be received prior to and at the AGM. This includes self-nominations for both positions